COFLT Honor Roll

The COFLT Honor Roll Board honors those language teachers or language professionals who have made significant accomplishments or contributions to both the teaching of language and the field of language acquisition and instruction.  Selection to the COFLT Honor Roll begins the nomination process for ACTFL Teacher of the Year.

Currently, three distinct awards are being offered:

  • Category 1: Outstanding language teaching at the K-12 level
  • Category 2: Outstanding language teaching at the college/university level
  • Category 3: Outstanding contribution to the language teaching profession

We feel that it is extremely important to honor our colleagues in a field where hard work often goes under-recognized. Please help us in our efforts by nominating a colleague for one of the awards listed above.

A nominee for any of the categories listed above must be a COFLT member.  Nominees for categories 1 and 2 must currently be teaching; nominees for category 3 need not be currently teaching.  The person making the nomination must be professionally associated with the nominee.

Not sure who to nominate?  Think of a colleague who inspires or motivates you, who is passionate about language teaching, who contributes to the profession in meaningful ways (large or small).

Deadline for COFLT Honor Roll nominations is April 1.  ONLY applications submitted via the COFLT website will be considered for COFLT honors and awards.  All inquiries and contact regarding awards should be sent to:


COFLT Honor Roll

 Year Name Institution
 2015 Isabelle Corneaux George Fox University
 2016 Rita Barrett
 Portland Adventist Academy
 2017 Miiko Suzuki
 Winston Churchill High School
 2017 Molly MacGregor
 Evergreen High School

More about Teacher of the Year

The State of Oregon is allowed to submit one (1) name for consideration for the Pacific Northwest Council for Languages (PNCFL) Teacher of the Year award.  In order to be eligible for this award, the nominee must have been a member of PNCFL for at least three years (bonus: membership in COFLT confers membership in PNCFL!).

PNCFL is allowed to submit one (1) name for consideration for the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) Teacher of the Year award.

More information can be found at

Contact COFLT:
email us: cofltoregon at gmail com
COFLT,  A-153, Pacific University, 2043 College Way, Forest Grove OR 97116
COFLT is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software